A town with a port on the narrowest part of the Trogir Channel. The old part of town lies on an islet which is connected with the mainland by a stone bridge spanning a narrow channel, and with the island of Ciovo, to which the town has spread, by a drawbridge which is never raised. The main economic activities are shipbuilding, tobacco industry, pharmaceutical industry and tourism. Due to its picturesque location, preserved medieval appearance and numerous cultural monuments, Trogir is a famous tourist town/museum. It is considered one of the most beautiful towns on the Adriatic coast.

A town called Tragurion was built on this site by the Greeks in the 3rd century B.C. At the end of the 1st century B.C. it became the Roman town of Tragurium and developed into an urban settlement with a network of streets, a town square, sacral buildings and a defence wall. By then it was a well-known town which appeared in written records. From the fall of the Roman Empire to the end of the 11th century, it was under Byzantine rule. A diocese was established in the 9th century and disbanded in 1828. In 1107 it was granted autonomy within the Hungarian - Croatian state.

In 1132 it was destroyed by the Arabs but slowly recovered in the centuries that followed. Between 1420 and 1797 Trogir was under Venetian rule which left a distinct legacy. That period witnessed the construction of the town wall, the strong Kamerlengo Fortress with the defence tower of Sv. Marko, the cathedral, the town loggia and other important buildings which have been preserved. Between 1797 and 1918, Trogir was under Austrian rule, with a brief interlude from 1806 to 1814, when the whole of Europe was ruled by the French. A large part of the wall was torn down in that period, but numerous monuments testifying to its remarkable past have remained, the most important of which is the Cathedral of sv. Lovro (St. Laurence) from the 13th to 15th centuries with the Chapel of sv. Ivan (St. John), the most magnificent Renaissance building in Dalmatia, built between 1468 and 1497.

The town wall with the mainland gate, the small Basilica of St. Barbara from the 9th or 10th century, which is the oldest preserved building in the town, the Church of sv. Ivan Krstitelj (St. John the Baptist) from 1270, the Benedictine monastery with the Church of sv. Nikola (St. Nicholas), the 14th century Dominican monastery with the Church of sv. Dominik (St. Dominic), and the town loggia from 1308 with a clock tower are only partly preserved, while the 15th century Cipiko Palace, the Lucic Palace and the Garagnin-Fanfogna Palace, which houses the Town Museum, have been completely preserved. Numerous traces of Trogir's rich history are kept in the Museum of Sacral Art and in the Town Museum.

A walk through the labyrinth of narrow streets and small squares in the old part of town is an unforgettable experience of medieval atmosphere. The old core of Trogir on the islet has been placed on the UNESCO List of World Cultural Heritage.

The town port and the marina are located on the Ciovo side. On the western side lies a harbor for 100 boats. When the westerly wind blows strong, the sea in the port is very rough. Currents in the Trogir Channel can reach a speed of 3 knots. The clearance of the bridge is 3 m.

ACI Trogir Marina (021) 881 544 - There are pontoon piers with 180 berths, 60 spaces for dry storage, a 10-ton lift and a repair shop. The depth of the sea is 4 m.